Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
2 minutes
Read so far

What’s next after the primary?

Posted in:

Local candidates will face off in Nov. 3 election

  • Article Image Alt Text

With the primary election over and without a need for any runoffs, Jones County voters have a reprieve until the Nov. 3 General Election.

The last day to register to vote in the Nov. 3 election that includes the selection of the next President of the United States is Oct. 5. Early voting for the election will begin Oct. 12 and will end Oct. 30. The only day for Saturday voting is Oct. 24.

Two Jones County Commissioners have opposition in the Nov. 3 election. Incumbent District 2 Commissioner Jonathan Pitts, Democrat, is opposed by Republican John Wood. Wood competed for the seat in the 2016 election in what turned out to be such a close race that it was decided by only 22 votes.

Incumbent District 4 Commissioner Daylon Martin, Democrat, is opposed by a newcomer to local politics, Jan Hester Andrews, Republican. Sheriff Butch Reece, Republican, has opposition from another new political newcomer, Louis Pounds Sr., Democrat.

Incumbent District 3 commissioner Tommy Robinson did not qualify to run again, and Wendy Vaughn, Republican, was the lone qualifier for the District 3 position. Vaughn will be the new commissioner for the district and will take office Jan. 1, 2021, at the conclusion of Robinson’s term.

Incumbents Board of Commissioners Chairman Chris Weidner and District 1 Commissioner Sam Kitchens, Tax Commissioner Brian Jackson, Superior Court Clerk Pam Dixon, Coroner Matt Jarrett and Probate Judge Mike Greene do not face November opposition.

The Jones County Board of Education had two members up for election this year. District 2 representative Alfred Pitts and District 4 representative Kim Washburn were re-elected to their positions in the June 9 election without opposition.

According to the Georgia Secretary of State elections website, all four incumbent members of Jones County’s Legislative Delegation face opposition, with one in the primary and the remaining three in November.

Incumbent State Sen. David Lucas of District 26 is the only member of the delegation who had opposition in the June 9 Primary. Lucas, a Democrat, was opposed by Verbin Weaver, but the incumbent was victorious. Lucas has no Republican opposition in November.

Incumbent State Sen. Bert Jones, District 25, will face Democratic candidate Veronica Brinson in November.

Incumbent State Rep. Susan Holmes, Republican, District 129, will face a Democratic challenger, Sharona Bell, in November, as well as Joe Reed, who qualified to run as an Independent.

Incumbent State Rep. Danny Mathis, Republican, District 144, will face Mary Whipple-Lue, a Democrat, in November.

The contest to decide who will fill out the term of U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson that ends in 2022 will definitely be the race with the most candidates. Because it is a special election, a primary election was not allowed.

What that means is everyone who qualified to run for the position – Democrats, Republicans, Independents, Libertarians, Green Party and write-in candidates will be on the Nov. 3 ballot in what is known as a “Free for All” or open election.

That includes Sen. Kelly Loeffler, who was appointed to the position by Gov. Brian Kemp in December, and U.S. Congressman Doug Collins, who qualified to run for the position.

Loeffler and Collins are joined by no less than 19 other candidates who are listed on the Secretary of State’s website as having qualified to be on the Nov. 3 ballot. To be victorious in the Nov. 3 election, one of the candidates will have to have 50 percent plus one of the vote. Otherwise, the two candidates with the most votes will compete in a Jan. 5, 2021, runoff.

Georgia’s other U.S. Senator, David Purdue, is facing two challengers in the Nov. 3 election: Jon Ossoff, who won the Democratic Primary, and Libertarian Shane Hazel.

More election information is available on the Georgia Secretary of State website,