One race contested for BOE

-- Jones County’s only local election in 2018 will take place May 22 with one contested race for the Board of Education.

The contested race is in District One. The incumbent Ken Hamilton qualified to run again March 8, and challenger Michael John Gordon qualified the same day.

Board of Education District 3 and the chairman position were also up for election in May. The incumbents, Dr. Nancy Nash in District 3 and Chairman Ginger Bailey, however, both qualified for re-election without opposition.

Incumbents Hamilton and Nash were elected in 2014 replacing two long-serving members on the board who decided not to run for re-election. Deloras Moon held the position for District 1 for 23 years and Larry Haskins served on the board representing District 3 for 33 years. 

Bailey was elected to her first term in 2010.

The Board of Education instituted staggered terms in 2002 with the objective of making sure the board would always have at least two experienced members in place. District Two representative Willie Fluellen and District Four representative Mark Andrews ran for two-year terms instead of the usual four years in 2002 and ran again for four-year terms in 2004.

The non-partisan terms took effect in 2012, which puts the election of Board of Education candidates in May instead of November. 

In the state primary races, Rep. Susan Holmes, who is the incumbent for House District 129, qualified for re-election without either Republican or Democratic opposition.

The incumbent for House District 144, Bubber Epps, announced that he would not be running for re-election, and the candidates wanting to replace him are numerous.

Four individuals qualified to be the Democratic candidate – Cheyenne Warnock, Gregory D. Odom, Jessica Walden, and a familiar name, Mary Whipple-Lue, of Gordon.

Three Republicans are vying for the post – Danny Mathis, Milton Sampson, and Trey Ennis. 

The two incumbent state senators, District 25 Sen. Burt Jones and District 26 Sen. David Lucas, who represent Jones County, both qualified last week to keep their seats without opposition.

U.S. Congressman Austin Scott, who represents U.S. House District 8, has opposition from two Republican candidates – Danny Ellyson and Vance Dean. No Democratic challengers qualified. 

The last date to register for the May 22 election is April 23.

-- Debbie Lurie-Smith |


The Jones County News

P.O. Box 1538
Gray, GA 31032
(478) 986-3929